Department of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment

 
Teach, Learn, Grow
Gina Kevern, Director    gina.kevern@weschools.org
 
The Willoughby-Eastlake School District’s Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment department provides leadership in the development and implementation of the district’s educational programming for grades preschool through twelve. Ohio's New Learning Standards serve as the foundation for the curriculum. The careful selection of research-based materials, instructional practices and teaching strategies are essential to our success.

Our priorities include:
  • A district-wide focus on student achievement
  • An emphasis on high quality instruction
  • High quality professional development
  • District-wide use of data for informed decision-making
  • Development of instructional leadership at the school and district levels

Department responsibilities include:

  • Development of and management of the preschool - grade 12 curriculum
  • Selection and purchasing of textbooks and educational materials
  • Professional development
  • Grant management
  • Federal program coordination
  • Testing and assessments
  • Student achievement and progress
  • Instructional technology
  • Gifted education
  • English as a Second Language instructional support
  • Supporting parental and community involvement
  • Library media services
  • Tutoring and summer school services
  • District communications

Our district is committed to success for all of our students and we will continue to make improvements in our instructional programming to have measurable impacts on the quality of educational services we provide.

Department Staff
Alison  Ciferno
Gifted Coordinator
alison.ciferno@weschools.org 
 
Deanna Elsing
BTS/ Success Academy Coordinator
deanna.elsing@weschools.org 
 
Debby Patrick
Executive Office Assistant
debby.patrick@weschools.org
 
Jen Chauby
Curriculum Coordinator 
jen.chauby@weschools.org 
 
Nikki Stotler
Curriculum Coordinator 
nikki.stotler@weschools.org
 
 
@WES_CurricDir
Willoughby-Eastlake City Schools 32500 Chardon Rd. Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44094  |  Phone: (440) 946-5000 Fax: (440) 946-4671

School CMS created by eSchoolView
Students First - Quality Instruction - Time on Task